The NYC Present and Past
The NYC Today
On the water since 1894, National Yacht Club is an active, inclusive boating community located near the foot of Bathurst Street, right in the heart of downtown Toronto. Operating year-round, our club features comfortable dining and a spectacular patio with free on-site member parking – a rare find downtown!
The National Yacht Club offers safe dockage for your vessel, relaxation for Captain and Crew and a beautiful setting for your social events and leisure. You are on the lake in minutes, and back in the city at the end of the race or cruise just as quickly. Our location is equally convenient to the lake with Quick access to the inner harbour, Toronto Islands and Lake Ontario.
An active dry sail fleet, crew bank program and free parking on site for members are integral parts of our great location. National’s striking clubhouse with licensed dining room and terrace provides superb views of fireworks, air shows, on water activities, and the most romantic sunsets over the water and the city skyline.
Quality and variety are the focal points of the menus created by our Executive Chef for daily enjoyment, special events and business meetings.
Join us and find out why “The National” is the place to be for Sailors and Power Boat Enthusiasts!
The NYC’s Rich History
The National Yacht Club boasts a long and successful history, full of tradition, and helped shape the Toronto waterfront as we know it today. The club was established in 1894 with the first clubhouse on the west side of the Queens Quay Wharf. Ten years later it was moved to a more protected area on the east side of the wharf – currently the site of the old Loblaws warehouse (N.E. corner of Bathurst and Lakeshore).
The National Yacht Club was constructed for the Sea Fleas making National Yacht Club a centre for powerboat racers.
The original name of the club was the National Yacht and Skiff Club, but in 1947 new Letters of Patent were granted for the current name of National Yacht Club .
Making a big mark on the current waterfront, first the Federal Government constructed the steel wall to give added protection to the basin in 1950. Then in 1983 the Toronto Harbour Commission proposed a new landfill sight for National Yacht Club with a new 50 year lease, creating the strip of land the clubhouse sits on today. By 1988 the new clubhouse which exists today opened to great celebration.
The clubhouse and docks have undergone many renovations and upgrades since opening including expansion of docks between 1999-2001, renovations to the chart room in 2003 and the installation of an elevator to service second floor dining room two years later. Most recently the second floor restaurant received a complete renovation, re-opening in March 2008 to rave reviews.
Over the past twenty years National Yacht Club has become known in the racing community through hosting events such as LYRA, the 1999 Mobility Cup, several NOOD Regattas (co-hosted with RCYC) and the annual C&C Owners Regatta.
National Yacht Club has also always been involved in a number of community-oriented programs like the Sea Scouts, sponsoring Broad Reach Foundation for Youth by providing location for program activities and the Harbourfront Community Centre Alberg 22 boat program.
Historic NYC Photos