The National Yacht Club was constructed for the Sea Fleas making National Yacht Club a centre for powerboat racers.
The original name of the club was the National Yacht and Skiff Club, but in 1947 new Letters of Patent were granted for the current name of National Yacht Club .
Making a big mark on the current waterfront, first the Federal Government constructed the steel wall to give added protection to the basin in 1950. Then in 1983 the Toronto Harbour Commission proposed a new landfill sight for National Yacht Club with a new 50 year lease, creating the strip of land the clubhouse sits on today. By 1988 the new clubhouse which exists today opened to great celebration.
The clubhouse and docks have undergone many renovations and upgrades since opening including expansion of docks between 1999-2001, renovations to the chart room in 2003 and the installation of an elevator to service second floor dining room two years later. Most recently the second floor restaurant received a complete renovation, re-opening in March 2008 to rave reviews.
Over the past twenty years National Yacht Club has become known in the racing community through hosting events such as LYRA, the 1999 Mobility Cup, several NOOD Regattas (co-hosted with RCYC) and the annual C&C Owners Regatta. Most recently LORC honoured member Flak with the Boat-of-the-Year award for LAKE Ontario in 2007, four boats - Mummy, Flak, the baby Zingara (Melges 24) and Notorious - represented National Yacht Club in Key West in 2008 and Alanna Foscarini and Alison Ludzki of National Yacht Club represented Canada at the 2008 ISAF Youth Worlds in Denmark.
National Yacht Club has also always been involved in a number of community-oriented programs like the unique Shark Club, sponsoring Broad Reach Foundation for Youth by providing location for program activities, the Harbourfront Community Centre Alberg 22 boat program, the Sandy 'C' Program and a sailing education program which commenced in 2000.
Check out our gallery of pictures from the past: