MENU Member Login
On the waterfront in Downtown Toronto since 1894 From novice to old salt, there is a place for everyone at National Yacht Club.
AHMEN Awards Dinner
February 25th, 2013 @ 09:36 PM EST by admin
The AHMEN annual dinner was held on Feb. 1. The event was well attended with over 70 in attendance. NYC provided an excellent buffet. It was also a great opportunity to socialize with fellow racers, to reminisce on the past season, and to think about plans for 2013. The AHMEN series is composed of six races organized by the Yacht Clubs situated around Humber Bay. Membership has expanded to include QCYC and ABYC. There are prize flags awarded for each race and a flag for the overall winner in each division. About 50% of the fleet is from NYC. The fleet is divided into four divisions. The division winners for 2013 were: White sail I, Puffin (Frank Vetricek), EYC; White sail II Fine Wine (Frank Bushe), QCYC; Spin I Diana, (Nicolaus Reimann), NYC; Spin II Aristosera (Richard McKean), NYC. For the last two years the Argosy Rose Bowl has been a part of the AHMEN series. This year the trophy was awarded to Daybreak (John Skinner), NYC. This year the Wilf Scot Memorial trophy was awarded to the winner of the R class. The trophy has long long history. In the past it was awarded by the LORC. R boats have won the trophy 7 times. Two of those times was by Nic Reiman, Sr.. Nic Sr. and Keith Ryan, elder statesmen of the R class in Toronto, presented the trophy to this year’s winner Nicoclaus Reimann. The final part of the evening was an entertaining presentation by Vicki and Henry Piersig on their adventure in the south seas. The boat was a square masted brig. The passengers were crew and required to go aloft and trim the sails. A trip across the Drake Passage and Cape Horn is quite an achievement. It was a great evening. by Richard McKean

Frank Bushe, QCYC assists in handing out prize flags

Nicolaus Reimann, Diana, is presented with the Wilf Scot Memorial Trophy

Henry and Vicki Piersig