MENU Member Login
On the waterfront in Downtown Toronto since 1894 From novice to old salt, there is a place for everyone at National Yacht Club.
The Commodores Banquet
November 27th, 2012 @ 04:25 PM EST by admin

by Faith Seekings

For the first time in my nine years of membership, I attended the Commodore’s Banquet. I was very pleasantly surprised to arrive and find the restaurant transformed into a beautiful formal setting, and to see so many NYC members dressed to the nines and enjoying themselves.

I didn’t know what to expect, especially being the companion of a Vice Commodore and sitting at the head table. It was both formal and traditional, plus a lot of fun.

First, the head table was banished downstairs. Unfortunately we missed the toasted to queen, but we’re piped in by Struther MscFarlane and introduced by emcee Kathy Terry. Doug Thompson said grace, then a delicious three course dinner was served.

Then onto the presentations! Unlike presentation night where it’s all about racing, many NYC members received special recognition for their contribution to the community. There’re number of such awards given out. Unfortunately some of them weren’t there to receive them. The Cape Trophy went to Adam Farkas, the Marita Award to Ann Mitchell, the Addie Meukoester Award to Dennis Jones with Pamela Robertson presenting. Then there was a thank you gift of presented to outgoing Commodore Henry Piersig and flowers for his wife Vicky.

Perhaps the most touching part of the evening was when our former Manager Walter Kowalchuk was presented with a special gift from the NYC that included a letter ending with ’we’ll always be your safe port in a storm’. Walter received a standing ovation, as did the restaurant staff for a wonderful menu and great service.

After the formal portion of the evening was over the band Pablo Terry and Sol de Cuba took over and man some of our members dance! The evening was a lot of fun, not what I was expecting and it really made me feel proud to be part of the National Yacht Club.

by, Don Williams – Dock Committee Chair –